• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Adopting an adult, international student

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

GivenB

I'm an Iowa resident (female.) May I adopt an adult international student, attending school in Iowa, who is young enough to be my daughter, whom I love like my daughter, and who loves me like a daughter?

GivenB

Re: adopting an adult international student

Dear Silverplum,
Thank you for your reply and for your informative direction.
While not intended to confer U.S. citizen status, I was hoping our adopting each other (in actuality) would also afford her some extra time with immigration to procure her necessary documents to extend her U.S. presence.
We happen to care deeply for each other, and advantageously contribute to each other's lives; like mother and daughter. (I have an awesome, adult birth daughter, with whom I enjoy a very close relationship, so I know how special this is.)
Might you be aware of whether or not adoption may contribute to an "awareness" by immigration, certainly not for any extended US Immigration and Naturalization rights?
Thanks, again for your time and consideration!
Sincerely,
GB

Proserpina

Dear Silverplum,
While not intended to confer U.S. citizen status, I was hoping our adopting each other (in actuality) would also afford her some extra time with immigration to procure her necessary documents to extend her U.S. presence.
We happen to care deeply for each other, and advantageously contribute to each other's lives; like mother and daughter. (I have an awesome, adult birth daughter, with whom I enjoy a very close relationship, so I know how special this is.)