• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

adotion of a foreign adult

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

wdacqua

What is the name of your state? Kansas

I am a graduate student at kansas state univeristy under F-1 visa, working on my second Master's degree. I have known an american couple for 4 years now and we became really close and they want to support me to stay in the USA by adopting me. My perspectives of job or a better life back home are not very good.
I know that KS allows adult adoption but I have not found any information related to a foreign adult willing to be adopted.
Does anyone know whether this option is possible or not?
PS: both the couple and I reside in the same town: Manhattan Kansas.
Thank you very much....

LdiJ

What is the name of your state? Kansas

I am a graduate student at kansas state univeristy under F-1 visa, working on my second Master's degree. I have known an american couple for 4 years now and we became really close and they want to support me to stay in the USA by adopting me. My perspectives of job or a better life back home are not very good.
I know that KS allows adult adoption but I have not found any information related to a foreign adult willing to be adopted.
Does anyone know whether this option is possible or not?
PS: both the couple and I reside in the same town: Manhattan Kansas.
Thank you very much....
Adult adoption is possible, but I don't think that it will necessarily improve your immigration status. Please consult an immigration attorney on that issue.

wdacqua