• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Pet Foster Parent Rights

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

misskrichmond

I am currently a resident of the state of Virginia and I am fostering some dogs for the local humane society that happens to be located in west Virginia. I need to know the rights I have to ownership of these dogs. We received Violet from a transport from Georgia at the end of December. She was pregnant. She had her puppies on January 2, 2007. Violet and the puppies live with us in Virginia and the puppies were born in Virginia. The lady working for the humane society would not let us take her to the vet even though she had a ruptured placenta and a baby was stuck in the birth canal. I had to help her have every puppy, 8 lived and 4 died. Since then we have been taking care of violet and all 8 of the puppies. We have provided food, shelter, some medications, etc...for them. Recently violet became very ill. We were unable to reach the lady working for the society, so we had to take her on to the vet for fear that she may die. Her temperature was 106.7 and we were afraid she would start having seizures. The vet diagnosed her with pyometra (infected uterus). This condition is life threatening, so she had to have emergency surgery. We attempted to contact the lady from the humane society again and was unsuccessful. Shortly before the surgery she became septic and the fear for her life intensified. An 8 in. diameter bag of pus was removed from her uterus and she was also spayed at that time due to fear of further infections. She had to remain at the vet for a week because she was so unstable. During that time she developed septic abscesses on her teats. The infectio