• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Alimony if ex-husband shows less income?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

grainybrainy

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? New York

I have been here before and have quite a history about my marriage. Its been a painful 1.5 years now and I am back because I found people here helpful last time.

My husband is a businessman (former banker) and shows only minimum income every year. Last 4 years before my marriage he has shown no income. He has his own condo worth $1.5M for which he pays about $1500 maintenance every month. I was a student and worked pro-bono for a small company for the past 6 months. I have updated skills on my resume now and have begun looking for a full time job and I expect to make more than he currently "makes". If we divorce , can he get alimony from me? How do courts view this?

First of all I am struggling to find proof about the fact that he lied to me about his age (by about 7 years ). I am assuming that in the worst case I cannot get an annulment it will be a divorce. Can he extract alimony or one time payment from me? I have a 200K student loan and not a dime in the world. My family does not acknowledge my marriage ever since I married him (no social support, I am out on my own)

On all his business deals he takes off-shore payments and does not show anything in the US. He is in his 50s highly educated, I am in my early thirties, also well educated. No kids. If he "retires" later can he come back at a later point and trouble me any more?