• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Alimony Ins Policy

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Notmarried4sure

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? FL
I have been paying alimony for 10 years and was required to have a $100k life ins policy to ensure unpaid alimony. It is current as they take it directly from my paycheck. The policy was a term and now it is over. To continue with another the price has doubled as I will be 65 this year. My options are: do nothing and see what happens 2. Substitute another policy I have on myself. I would like for this to end and hoping my alimony ends too when I plan to retire in a few years. Suggestions?

LdiJ

I have been paying alimony for 10 years and was required to have a $100k life ins policy to ensure unpaid alimony. It is current as they take it directly from my paycheck. The policy was a term and now it is over. To continue with another the price has doubled as I will be 65 this year. My options are: do nothing and see what happens 2. Substitute another policy I have on myself. I would like for this to end and hoping my alimony ends too when I plan to retire in a few years. Suggestions?
You are ordered to maintain 100k of life insurance for the benefit of your ex. You are required to maintain that coverage one way or another.

tuffbrk

You may want to talk with an attorney to discuss the possibility of reducing the amount of the life insurance now that 10 years has passed. Although you may want to wait and see if the current bill in the legislature gets passed if you have the luxury of some time before the policy lapses.

Notmarried4sure

Insurance