• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Alimony for Life

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

teddy32

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California.

I was married for 5 years and separated with my wife. To get an easy divorce, I agreed to give her alimony for life until she remarried. I have been paying for 7 years now but with this guarantee money, I feel that she will never get married or stay single on purpose. Is this ruling still enforceable? Can I go to court and do something about this?

David

Proserpina

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California.

I was married for 5 years and separated with my wife. To get an easy divorce, I agreed to give her alimony for life until she remarried. I have been paying for 7 years now but with this guarantee money, I feel that she will never get married or stay single on purpose. Is this ruling still enforceable? Can I go to court and do something about this?

David

Why on EARTH did you agree to lifetime alimony?!

Really - please type word for word (minus names) what your court orders actually say about alimony.

teddy32

Life Time Alimony

I felt guilty and I was stupid. I thought she was a nice person and wouldn't take advantage of me but I was wrong. I do want to hire a lawyer but want to find out if I have a case first before I pay for legal council.

Here is the statement:

"THE COURT FURTHER ORDERS that Respondent shall pay to Petitioner the sum of $800.00 per month, as and for spousal support, payable on the 1st day of month, beginning 1st of August, 2005, and continuing until death or remarriage of the recipient, or until death of recipient or payee, whichever occurs first"