• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Displaced Homemaker and Alimony

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Halieh S

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Colorado

At my husband's insistence, I have been out of the workforce for twelve years. During that time, he earned an accounting degree and I finished my Master's degree in psychology. I have never completed an internship or developed work experience due to my obligations towards our three children.

We want to divorce but are waiting out the current economic storm. My spouse lost his job five months ago and is having difficulty finding another job. We have no household income at this time. I'd like to return to work in an effort to bring some income into the house.

So, here is my question...

If my spouse files for the divorce while I am working and he is unemployed, will I have to pay him alimony?

Thanks in advance for your answer.What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

Silverplum

Displaced Homemaker and Alimony
What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Colorado

At my husband's insistence, I have been out of the workforce for twelve years. During that time, he earned an accounting degree and I finished my Master's degree in psychology. I have never completed an internship or developed work experience due to my obligations towards our three children.

We want to divorce but are waiting out the current economic storm. My spouse lost his job five months ago and is having difficulty finding another job. We have no household income at this time. I'd like to return to work in an effort to bring some income into the house.

So, here is my question...