• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Help - no good ex-husband taking everything I have

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

igotquestions52

Your advice please

I've been paying alimony too my ex-husband for several months now. I already have enough evidence to end it (romantic relationship, cohabiting, being supported, etc.) My lawyer was even amazed at the amount of evidence but it seems my lawyer warned me something like this sometimes happens..Seems my ex-husband informed me by email that he and his girl friend broke-up which was the same day he was served (convenient)

Question-

Is it possible that I can prove to the court that he made the contract/alimony agreement null and void by cohabiting, being supported etc past moths ago despite claiming he is not in a supportive relationship now?

ps. this is a big deal to me because I can not afford to live and pay him alimony, I'm going into the hole.

Proserpina

Your advice please

I've been paying alimony too my ex-husband for several months now. I already have enough evidence to end it (romantic relationship, cohabiting, being supported, etc.) My lawyer was even amazed at the amount of evidence but it seems my lawyer warned me something like this sometimes happens..Seems my ex-husband informed me by email that he and his girl friend broke-up which was the same day he was served (convenient)

Question-

Is it possible that I can prove to the court that he made the contract/alimony agreement null and void by cohabiting, being supported etc past moths ago despite claiming he is not in a supportive relationship now?