• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

how does second marriage of payor affect alimony payments

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

caris

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

I am a full time professional. If I had to marry my divorced boyfriend, does my income gets added to my boyfriend's income and his alimony is recalculated, hence his ex-wife gets a bigger alimony amount. Or does his alimony remain the same based on his sole income?

Proserpina

I am a full time professional. If I had to marry my divorced boyfriend, does my income gets added to my boyfriend's income and his alimony is recalculated, hence his ex-wife gets a bigger alimony amount. Or does his alimony remain the same based on his sole income?

I think I have some great news for you...

This is the actual code: http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=fam&group=04001-05000&file=4320-4326

And this is a much simplified answer:

Spousal support and new mate income

If you are paying spousal support, with the enactment of Family Code 4323 (b) in 1993, the income of
a new spouse or non-marital partner cannot be taken into account in calculating spousal support.

There is no comparable extreme hardship exception as in the case of child support. The Court of
Appeal has strictly construed this provision so that new mate income cannot be taken into account
directly or indirectly by virtue of the fact that it may increase the payors disposable income because
the new mate pays the payors living expenses. (3) Even if the new spouse causes an increase in the
payor’s living expenses, that cannot be taken into account.
(Emphasis mine)

OHRoadwarrior