• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Husband tried to use me for green card, was abusive

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Betty777

California.

Husband tried to marry me for green card, now divorcing him and he asked for my student loan money as alimony

Hello, First of all thank you so much. I am a student, and do not have any money right now because my husband was abusive towards me. He is an illegal citizen, I married him because I loved him but I did not know that he was on probation for abusing his ex. My husband became abusive towards me and I filed for divorce 3/16. we separated June, 2015. Now the husband soon to be ex is asking me for spousal support and asking for my student loan money. I have already paid the student loan money to the University and also have a TRO against the ex because he has also tried to have his friends intimidate me. My question is what do I do or say in the TRO trial to get the restraint order approved and he will also have his friends lie to the court. I am so sick from the abuse and can not believe that he is asking for my school money, which has been spent on my tuition, and now I have had to take a leave of absence from school and work which I only make 10.00 an hour. Thank you so much for your time. I just had to also move for my safety.

Proserpina

California.

Husband tried to marry me for green card, now divorcing him and he asked for my student loan money as alimony