• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Inheritance

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Checkmate

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? az

My divorce was final December of 2010. My ex was awarded about $500 a month in spousal support and $500 a month for child support. I was a teacher making about $4,000 a month. I just lost my job last week. But a few months ago I inherited about half a million dollars in stock. I have a chiropractic license, but havent worked as a chiropractor in about 7 years. I have some degenerative injuries that make it tough to do the physical work as a chiropractor. My ex wife is a licensed nurse (LPN) and is in school to be a RN.She has never had a job, and has never worked out of the home - although she does photography and makes some money on her own. She remarried in May 2012.

Going back to court to get spousal support dropped.
1) Can my wife continue or increase the alimoney?
2) can my wife take part of my inheritance?

justalayman

Your order allowed continued spousal maintenance even after she remarried?

If you believe you have a right to ask the maintenance be reduced, why would you think she wouldn't have a right to have it increased? You need to review the order to determine what happens in some given circumstance.

As to her taking any of your inheritance; she cannot take your inheritance. Is the order actually allows continued support even after marriage, she can argue that you, even with losing your job, are not overly burdened by your loss of your job due to your substantial financial holdings and there is no justification to reduce the support.

latigo

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? az