• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

out of state alimony

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

honeybell

I was awarded 5 years alimony in 2005 by a Connecticut judge. I am now a permanent resident of Florida and my ex is now a permanent resident of New York State.

He has stopped paying alimony, how do I apporach this issue? What state would I file in?

Thank you.What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

honeybell

I appreciate your prompt reply. Is this something I can do myself, or would I need a lawyer in Connecticut?

seniorjudge

I appreciate your prompt reply. Is this something I can do myself, or would I need a lawyer in Connecticut?
If it were me, I'd hire a lawyer across from the courthouse where the lawsuit was decided.

There MAY be ways to get it to your current residence; but the place to start is Connecticut.

honeybell

Thanks again for your help. It's nice to know there are some kind and decent people left in today's world!

TinkerBelleLuvr

Because alimony is taxable income, if you qualify to itemize on your taxes, this may be a tax deductible expense.

When filing contempt against the X, ask that your attorney fees be paid by your X.

LdiJ

Because alimony is taxable income, if you qualify to itemize on your taxes, this may be a tax deductible expense.

When filing contempt against the X, ask that your attorney fees be paid by your X.
Good point Ginny. Legal fees involved in the production of income are tax deductible if someone itemizes, and if those legal fees exceed the 2% of AGI floor.

TinkerBelleLuvr