• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Settlement

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

martto922

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NJ

I am in final stage of my divorce. Brief history – I filed 2+ years ago, have been paying all bills at former marital home in addition to $300 wk to soon to be ex. We have 2 children - ages 20 & 16, both reside at former marital residence. One in college locally full-time, other in high school.

I am a self-employed carpenter and key man in my company. I work from my truck and cell phone. In past, we had lived month to month, no second home, no fancy cars or vacations, no big savings accounts. Business evaluation completed and was valued between $120,000-$140,000. It has been suggested that her part of business and equity in former marital home are a wash. I am thinking of giving her house in return for my business and need to know if my name must stay on the mortgage. If so, would I be responsible for repairs as well? How can I protect my credit if she falls behind on mortgage payments? How long must my name stay on? Until youngest is out of high school? Or college?

Also, is car insurance for child that drives part of child support?

tuffbrk

A few thoughts -

In Middlesex County, the court won't consider your 20 yo in the divorce process. Doesn't matter that he's in college FT or resides at home. This may not be the case in other counties.