• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Advice needed badly, gentlemen...

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Volcom

What is the name of your state? Florida

First I'd like to say hello to the forum, hello;) and sorry for the long upcoming post. I am new here and found this website through a google search. It's close of business Friday and a short time ago (today) I learned of something that is listed on my record (or criminal record I guess you could say).
I cannot contact any local attorneys until next monday, so I would like an opinion, any opinion, on a matter that has presented itself to me.

A bit about me; I'm a recent college grad and I am now applying for jobs. My major was legal studies, however, it is my hope to get involved in law enforcement, Federal LE preferrably.

I'm in the hiring process w/ many agencies both Federal and local. I have a clean record, along w/ solid LE internships and I seem to be quite competitive.... until today.

This week I was dropped from a local dept's. hiring process after starting the background investigation phase. This came as a shock to me, as I know my background is clean. Upon finally reaching a POC today w/ the aformentioned department, I have learned that it was because of something in my (new to me) criminal record. It's a character issue; stealing.