• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

arrest warrant on old bad check

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

stev2000

I am in Georgia. I recieved a letter from a District Attorney in Alabama telling me that an outstanding warrant for my arrest has been forwarded to the Sheriff's office of a county in Alabama that I used to live in. The letter says that the warrant is for a worthless check dating back to June, 1991, which is the last month that I lived there when I was in college. I moved to start a new job in Georgia after I graduated and have not heard anything about this bad check until now. I believe that there is a statute of limitation on collection of bad debt, but is there one for arrest warrents? The letter requests that I call the Worthless Check Unit of the District Attorney's office for more information. What are my options?

S

seniorjudge

There is no such thing as a statute of limitations on warrants (to my knowledge).

If the bad check section does not want to work with you, then he only way to take care of this would be to surrender in Alabama.

Let me give you a hint: Pay (I do not mean "set up a payment plan", I mean PAY) the check and charges off without fuss; they are more interested in the dough than they are you and may give you a break.

stev2000