• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Arrested for suspended license... but it isn't.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

sotn76

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? TN, GA and VA.

I am a resident of TN. Moved here last year, before that I lived in Virginia. Last Wednesday, while driving through GA, I was stopped for speeding and then arrested for driving on a suspended license. Totally shocked and surprised by this as I haven't had any previous tickets or warrants. In jail I was even told by one of the prison employees processing my intake that the judge would probably throw my whole case out due to the officer who arrested me filling out poor paperwork and lack of notary on things were notary was required. Yet, I spent 16 hours in jail, unable to make a phone call to my wife in TN because it was 'long distance', was forced to post bond, it was a nightmare.

After researching this, my driving privilege in Virginia was suspended due to unpaid personal property taxes. Looking back on my personal records, the taxes were paid. I called to verify payment of my taxes with the county I lived in and got to the bottom of the problem. Apparently, when we moved, their computer wasn't updated properly and it showed that we still owed taxes beyond our move date. The county helped to correct the issue in their system and apologized for the inconvenience. So, they are sending me the documentation to show that I should not have had my license suspended and will allow me to clear my driving records with the DMV.

Now, I have two big questions...