• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Was ask to get out of vehicle while camping in the National Forest

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

C Horne

What is the name of your state? Ms

THe officer did not id himself as a police officer. I have no warrants and my truck is perfectly legal. I have a legitimate right to camp where I was ad. In fact, I have been camping there off and on for 5 years and never had a problem.
Anyhow, I said I was "yelling", I was not (although I was definately annoyed and definately had a tone), especially when he put hand cuffs on me and then ask me for my drivers ID.
Although I didnt cuss, or say or do anything threatening.
I said, "I would get it but I am handcuffed."
He ask for permission to get it and I said no.
He let me out of the cuffs and I gave him my ID.
He checked it and like I said I clean.
I mentioned to him that he didnt identify himself as the police.
Then for about the third time he threaten to arrest me if I didnt basically shut up.
He then told me to
leave the campground because I was trust passing.
Which is not true.
In fact, there are day passes at the entry way to the campground.
I am guessing there probably isnt much I can do.
It just seems like the cop was kind of excessive especially since I was merely camping and there was no reason to roust me.

ceara19

What is the name of your state? Ms

THe officer did not id himself as a police officer.
Was he wearing a uniform? Badge? Driving a police car?

I have no warrants and my truck is perfectly legal.
Okay

I have a legitimate right to camp where I was ad. In fact, I have been camping there off and on for 5 years and never had a problem.