• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Business & Professions Code 25620

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

lagkango

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California, Los Angeles.

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting on this forum. Now, the other night I received a notice to appear in court in violation of Business and Professions code 25620. Possession of an open container of alcohol, more specifically a beer in the back seat of a car with me and 2 other friends at a park. Stupid, I know, but I'm still young, if you consider 22 young, and haven't been cited for any prior offenses in my life. Now, checking the Bail Schedule for Infractions and Misdemeanors for 2009, it shows B&P 25620 as an infraction, yet on my notice to appear form it is listed as a misdemeanor. Which one is it? And also, what would be the most prudent course of action I should take? Guilty or nolo contendere? As I have never had any run in with the law whatsoever, and practically chewing my nails to the stubs concerning this offense, I do not know what to expect when I go to court. Any input is much appreciated. Thank you all.

lagkango

Please guys, any advice or help understanding this would be greatly appreciated. I'm desperate for help.

CdwJava