• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Criminal Retrial Procedure

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

legalq

Hello I am new to this forum so please forgive me if I haven't posted this in the correct place. I am an amatuer writer and I am writing a small play that has a re-trial in it. It takes place In NYC. It is a murder case.

Situation: The defendant of a murder case was convicted and sentenced and then appealed the decision when new evidence became available. 1 year later she was awarded a re-trial.

My questions are:

1) What is the chronology of events in a criminal re-trial?
(As much detail as possible is greatly appreciated.)

2) Are you still assumed innocent during the re-trial even though you were prieviously convicted?

3) Is it ever mentioned to anyone in the courtroom that it is in fact a re-trial?

4) Are there any law students or lawyers who would like to have thier name listed as research contributors?

Thanx
:)

Last edited:

seniorjudge

legalq said:
Hello I am new to this forum so please forgive me if I haven't posted this in the correct place. I am an amatuer writer and I am writing a small play that has a re-trial in it. It takes place In NYC. It is a murder case.

Situation: The defendant of a murder case was convicted and sentenced and then appealed the decision when new evidence became available. 1 year later she was awarded a re-trial.

My questions are:

1) What is the chronology of events in a criminal re-trial?
(As much detail as possible is greatly appreciated.)

2) Are you still assumed innocent during the re-trial even though you were prieviously convicted?

3) Is it ever mentioned to anyone in the courtroom that it is in fact a re-trial?