• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Disorderly Conduct, Resisting Arrest?!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

D

detz

Plymouth, NH
I'm a college student and I went downtown the other night to have some drinks with some friends. One of my friends had too much and I offered to walk him home. On are way out we made a little scene and the bouncer kicked us out, while outside a state trooper drove by and called the local police. When they showed up I was upset because I was just trying to talk a friend home. I was yelling at them, I was drunk so I was swearing and stuff but nothing physical. After arguing they finally put me in cuffs and arrested me. I woke up in the morning and found that I was charged with disorderly conduct and resisting arrest. My question is what are the chanced I'm going to get jail time? The friends that witnessed the even said I made no physical attempt to resist arrest just verbal, am I more likely just to get fined? Also, I don't have $$ to pay for a lawyer and they can't appoint one until my arraignment but I don't know what I should plea, should I plead guilty?

enjay

Assuming you have a clean record, your chances of jail time are about nil. Get your court appointed attorney and let him/her handle it.

D

detz

So you think I should plead not guilty on the arrainment and get an attorney appointed to me?

B

biker11