• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Do I need a Lawyer?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Murfslaw

Hi All. Need advice. I'm a resident in PA. In early March 2015, I became aware of the fact that PSP (PA State Police) filed charges against Me at a local Magistrates office for an alleged hit & run accident that took place in early Feb. 2015. The charges were filled at the Magistrates office and then immediately appeared in the crime section of My local paper. That is what tipped Me off to the charges. From there I went online and downloaded a copy of the pending charges from the public records data base fir our state. HHowever, the info provided in the court summary was very vague. The docket sheet and court summary only listed the charges filed against Me, the incident date, the county & township were the incident took place, My 1st & Last name, & my current address and the arresting officer, his barracks and the date he filed the complaint. I was at work in a completely different town when this incident took place and I did not have a vehicle of any kind that could have been involved in this accident.

2wo weeks after the original news papEr article, My postmaster let me know that she had returned mail to the magistrate because it was not addressed properly. She said the address on file ddint match the address on the certified mail. I called the magistrates office to have them resend it with the correct address. They refused and advised I had to come in immediately & sign for it or a warrant would be issued. So I picked up the charges.