• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Fruit of the Poison Tree

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

believeinthesys

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? New Jersey

Hello. I am challenge a summons based on the grounds that the stop was illegal, and so anything found subsequently (such as the expired inspection sticker) is not admissible. I'm not a lawyer, and so I'm wondering if I am interpreting the law correctly and stand any chance of winning. Here's the story...

I was pulled over in NJ for having an expired NJ drivers license. During the stop, the officer issued me a summons for an expired NJ inspection sticker.

In fact, I've never had an NJ license. The way the system works in NJ, if you receive a parking ticket in NJ (as I did several years ago), you are somehow assigned a number in the NJ DMV system - which to the police appears to be a drivers license number. On the officer's computer, my "NJ license" appears to be expired and so he pulled me over (I have a valid NY license).

I can not be pulled over for having an expired NJ license, when I've never even had a NJ license to begin with. Thus the stop was illegal, and so the expired inspection sticker found subsequently is tainted. The expired license is anon issue because the officer realized the issue as soon as I explained to him (this has happened to me before) the situation.

I realize that the officer honestly believed he had reason to pull me over. At the same time, misinformation generated by the State and fed to officers on the street can not be used as justification for a traffic stop that would otherwise be invalid. If so, this would be a very dangerous road to go down.