• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jyan7

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Maryland

I am a 19-yr old server. Without checking ID, I served alcohol to a minor who was a volunteer for the department of alcohol enforcement. I got a citation from the police and my court date is May 19.

Is it a criminal or civil offense?
And how do I possibly get probation before judgement? Is it too late now?
I am also a student, do I get a public defender for free and how long does it take to assign me one?

Thank you so much

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Maryland

I am a 19-yr old server. Without checking ID, I served alcohol to a minor who was a volunteer for the department of alcohol enforcement. I got a citation from the police and my court date is May 19.

Is it a criminal or civil offense?
And how do I possibly get probation before judgement? Is it too late now?
I am also a student, do I get a public defender for free and how long does it take to assign me one?

Thank you so much
I looked at the Maryland Code, and this is what I found.

I found this on the following website: Legal Resources

I could be wrong, as I am not an attorney.

Good Luck!

§ 12-108. Sales to minors and intoxicated persons prohibited.

(a) In general.-

(1) A licensee licensed under this article, or any employee of the licensee, may not sell or furnish any alcoholic beverages at any time:

(i) To a person under 21 years of age for the underage person's own use or for the use of any other person; or