• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Harassment from the neighbor

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

M

maetyn

What is the name of your state? MI

In July of 2003 I bought land adjoining one other private parcel the rest is surrounded (3 sides) by National Forest for the purpose to build a home (this is in accordance with local zoning laws). This neighbor has continually made my life difficult.

After I bought the land I went to meet my new neighbor, discuss my plans of construction and to offer help (a sign of good faith as I'm a general contractor) building his hunting cabin, he declined. A few months later he put up stakes and signs (no tresspassing) on my property (it was surveyed and marked with surveyor stakes) so I pulled them off the trees and out of the ground (after asking him to remove them and he didn't). I began bringing excavation contractors to the property to get bids and while I was there with one my neighbor approached with a gun on his hip (walking on to my property) and he asked "what the h*** are you doing out here?" The contractor was so offended that the neighbor "was carrying a gun around a woman" (I'm female) that he turned his back and refused to talk to the neighbor. I told my neighbor that I was planning on building a permanent residnce (again) and I pointed out aproximately where it would be located, he then asked me if I wanted to sell. Obviously I said no, and reinerated the fact that I am building my permanent residence here. This is on par with all 10+ encounters with my neighbor (the gun when we meet in person and asking if we want to sell in person and over the phone).