• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Hello. Question about passports.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

JayBB

Hello, all. I am an Illinois resident who was arrested in Massachusetts for a DUI. I was placed on probation. Ordered to pay fines and attend what I assume to be the standard courses.

All of that is going fine. I am up to date on all payments, have attended all courses, etc. It was a serious mistake. I realize that. Believe me, I've "learned my lesson." So please, no lectures. I broke the law and I've accepted my punishment.

My question is this. I was hoping to make a trip out of the country. I know I would have to check with my probation officer and all of that. The main issue is, I don't have a valid passport. My previous one had expired, so I would need to apply for a new one.

Would I be denied on the grounds that I am currently serving probation? It was a misdemeanor, and I'd be checking with my probation officer before I left, but would the fact that I am still "in the system" be grounds for denial?

I read somewhere that passports were only denied on outstanding felony warrants or things like that, but I wasn't sure if the fact that I had a relatively recent arrest (10 months ago) would be a problem. I was afraid it would raise a red flag that I'm attempting to "flee" or something.

I tried looking at official sites for the answer, but had a hard time finding the answer to my particular question.

Thanks a lot for your help.

The Occultist

Well you have to submit that application to somebody, right? My advice: find out who that somebody is and ask them. Or even just submit the application and see what happens.

JayBB

Thanks?