• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

house probation

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

yankeebandito49

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California. Can a probation officer ask for your house keys to do a search anytime they want.

Last edited:

CdwJava

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California. Can a probation officer ask for your house keys to do a search anytime they want.
Your probation officer is asking for copies of your keys that he might hold on to in order to search your home at will?

I have never HEARD of this procedure, and as an administrator I would not want to have that responsibility as it just creates a HUGE pile of liability for the probation department. However, while I would think it a bad idea for a number of reasons, I do not know that it is unlawful. But, if I were you, I would call his office and ask to speak to his supervisor and confirm that this is a policy or practice of the agency.

cyrus_2112

wow