• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

How badly were my rights violated and what can I do?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

H

henrod

Hi. I'm a musician in NY. I played a party Labor Day weekend and ran into some trouble. Here's the story.

I play the gig, everyone has a blast, the gig ends, I pack up, everyone helps carry my gear back to the truck. The homeowner comes out of the house, tells me to wait 30 seconds and he'll settle up with me. 10 minutes later, he comes out of the house, pulls
his dad off to the side (he's a cop, dad's a retired cop, both Suffolk County) and they're talking pretty intently. Slowly but
surely over the next 30 minutes, people enter the house but don't come
back out. I'm left on the deck by myself with one other couple talking
to each other on the other side of the pool. The owner finally comes out and
says there's been a 'serious felony' committed inside the house and that
I can't leave yet. He tells me he's a cop, that he's serious, and that
he hopes I didn't have other plans because I can't leave. I say OK. I
ask if everything's OK and he says no. I turn around to call my
girlfriend on my cell phone to tell her I'll be at her house later than
expected, and the owner asks what I'm doing. I tell him. He says OK.

After a few more minutes, I look over to the driveway and see a bunch of
the owner's friends and his dad peering into the open windows of my truck. I
move in a little closer to see what's happening and the dad asks if the
alarm is off. I looked around and realized he was talking to me, I said
the alarm was on. He asked if I could turn it off. I did so, and they