• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Illeagal search and seizure in my apt.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

sshuck

What is the name of your state? TX

I am a college student that lives in an apt complex for students. In our contract it states that our landlord can come into our apt. to check for “safety hazards” during Christmas break. So nobody was in our apt at this time. When we came back from Christmas break our apartment looked a little empty. Well we had street signs up on our wall in the common room that were not there when we came back. We had a note from the landlord that the signs were taken and also that the police were called, no warrant was served. We went to talk to the landlord and she said that the stolen street signs (never proven that they were stolen...assumptions only) were a violation of our contract and that she called the cops and we had to move in May. She never disclosed how the signs were taken. I figure they were 1) taken by the landlord and then the landlord turned them over to the police, or 2) the police were given access to our apartment with out a warrant by the landlord by either opening the door for them or by leaving the door open so when the cops came by they seen the signs thus giving them probable cause to enter.