• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

multiple search warrants - wrongfull arrest - cybercrime question ? I didnt do it ..

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

changeinlife

hello everyone.

A quick run down with me , im in my 30's , own a home , live alone , NEVER BEEN IN TROUBLE in my life not even a misdemeanor . I am a web designer at night , and had a full time job for 14 year at the same place. I have permits to carry and firearms within my residence all 100 % legal .

Now the interesting event :

8 months ago give or take i was awoken at 3:30 in the morning to BANGING at my front door. It sounded as if someone was kicking it in. I was scared to death due to the city i live in. So I drew a firearm and went to see the what was going on and if someone was inside the house. As I got to the front door to peak out the glass i hear " SHERIFFS , Search warrant " I IMMEDIATELY put down the firearm and opened the door with hands up. As they asked if i always answer the door with a gun , i said its 3 in the morning and you never said who you where until
i was at the door , i was within my rights.

They then proceeded to ask multiple questions, after i kept asking over and over what is this all about. I was not rude , i was not yelling , I sat their calm ( im just a calm guy , note no priors for anything ) . The questions where very strange to me . Such as : do you chat online ? do you download ? do you download music ? do you file share? do you use limewire or frost wire p2p programs ?