• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Need Advice in Florida...

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

needadvicenfla

What is the name of your state? Florida

I am an independent contractor that was hired to perform a service. Because the company is a start up there has been constant and sweeping changes since its inception but now we've come to the end of our "season" results have not been what they "the company" expected. They promised me an annual salary plus commission. Since some of my accounts did not come in as they expected, now they want me to pay back some type of monetary compensation to the company. The biggest mistake is that all of this was done verbally, nothing in writing. There's a lot with this situation but, this is my concern. Last month on my scheduled pay day, I went to my office and I didn't see my check in my box. Everyone else's paycheck was available in their boxes. I was getting ready to leave the office so I decided to leave a not for the Pres. of the company that I was leaving. When placing the note on his desk, there was an envelope sitting there and when I looked at it, it was my check. I took it and left. The envelope was sealed.