• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Petty Theft (CA - Frys Electronics)

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

the_peanutman

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? CA

Hello,

Recently, I was caught at Frys Electronics for petty theft, with the value of the property was under $60, and I am currently 20 years old. I was first detained by the LP, and then an officer arrived to write me a citation with a date for appearance in court. I am very confused about this whole process of appearing in court. I've read a lots advice suggesting I speak with an attorney, but I am currently a dependent college student, and can not afford one. Is there anyone at the court house that could provide me with similar services?

What would be the worst and best case scenarios?

I apologize if this is a repeated question, but I'd really appreciate any amount of help.

garrula lingua

Frys usually follows through in sending a witness for trial.

The date for your first appearance is written at the bottom of your ticket - it's the arraignment. Ask for a public defender (tell the Bailiff you need a PD). You'll have to fill out a financial statement for the court, to show you qualify for the PD.
Tell the PD the facts of the case. Tell him/her whether it's your first time & whether you have a 'squeaky clean' record.
The resolution is up to the Prosecutor. You may get a conviction for petty theft, with community service and booking (counts as one day jail to make it a priorable offense - means the next petty theft can be charged as a felony).