• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

The police changed the facts and narrative in my report

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Q333

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NY

I work as a babysitter (among other jobs) and have over 30 years experience. I was working through an agency Labor Day weekend and found myself working for a family with "problem children". The second time I was there, one of the children hit me in front of the mother and she acted like this was normal behavior. After the parents left, I told the agency I would not return to this home because the children were dangerous and uncontrollable. About 2 hours in, after numerous things happened, the boy hit me in the face and scratched my eye, grabbed my glasses and tried to break them. I put them in their room, called both parents (who had turned off their phones), left a message for the father to please come home and notified my agency of what happened. 15 minutes later the Mother texted me and asked if everything was OK (not a normal thing, really), and I asked if she heard the message I left. She said no, I told her that the boy had hurt me and that they needed to come home. The Mother sent texts as they were returning which state,"Ok, we'll be there in 15 minutes", etc. A few minutes later a police car (first of 3) came roaring up the driveway. I was standing in the doorway holding an ice pack to my eye. The Sergeant jumped out of the car like a Pit Bull on bath salts, shined a spotlight at me and yelled for me to show him my hands. He then asked where the children were, I took him into their bedroom, he continued to yell at me and told me not to leave. He told me I wasn't injured and that