• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Public Intoxication / False Arrest ?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

N

norights9

What is the name of your state? Texas

Recently was charged with a PI in Sunset Valley. I was NOT drunk, admitted to having two over a five hour period. I was a passenger and the driver had a previous ticket she was unaware had not been resolved. We were cooperative but appalled. I asked if I could call for a ride (they were going to impound friends car), and was answered sarcastically "we don't have a phone !" I was treated like an animal,yanked out of the vehicle, and wasn't even allowed to retrieve my sandles! I was transferred to Travis County after being scared to death by SVV police, (taken to a single wide trailor and the officers were vague as to where we were going....felt like being in the movie "Deliverance" !!)and then spent a horrible twelve hours in a "holding area" at Travis County jail.
When arrested no rights were read, no ticket was given, and no sobriety tests were done. I wasn't allowed a call to anyone.
The copy of the report I received from SSV is contradictory stating I was cooperative (true), combative (how can you be cooperative yet combative??), laughing (I do that when I'm nervous), among other wholly untrue observations . I know this is JUST a misdemeanor , but have a sterling record and have been out of work due to an injury so can't afford an attorney.
Sunset Valley says they dont have to provide me with an attorney so am I just out of luck?? Is there any way to fight this pro-se (sp?), or do I have to say I'm guilty when I'm not?
I'm just sick to my stomach over this and would appreciate any feedback. THANK YOU ! :(