• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

question about random drug stop

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jokerb19

I am a resident of utah, but my mother in law lives in nevada. My wife and i met my mother in law in wendover nevada and left my son with her so that she could take him back to elko for the weekend. While they were on their way back to elko, they were randomly stopped by nevada highway patrol for the purpose in the officers words "to search random vehicles for drugs". They then ordered my mother in law out and my 2 year old son out of the vehicle and they proceeded to search everything in the vehicle for 20 minutes. THey dumped out my sons bag of toys and the diaper bag we had packed for him. he was quite distraught and didnt know what was going on. I was under the impression they can stop a vehicle and check for drivers licesnse info, even walk a drug dog around the vehicle, but unless they had probable cause, or consent from the driver, they could not enter the vehicle and search personal possesions, even though i was not there, i feel extremely angry about this situation as it caused my son distress. Is this something they can get away with or is this something i should pursue with a lawyer.

ERAUPIKE