• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Renaming Digital Evidence

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Kats41

I'm a software dev for a law enforcement technologies firm and we're currently developing an evidence management software for smaller police departments. We're anticipating clients in all states, so there's no real district I can limit the scope to.

One of the concerns my supervisor had about file handling when databasing the evidence was renaming the files and whether or not a lawyer could actually argue that renaming a file would constitute evidence tampering and that it wasn't valid. Since we don't exactly know how other software solutions save and index data, we don't have a very good reference to work from.

Is this a legitimate concern for law enforcement officers when saving videos and images to their computers for management or are we worrying about microscopic details that no judge would care for?

I understand that this isn't a traditional "legal advice" question, but knowing the limitations of what a defender can argue will help us greatly when coming up with possible database solutions.

Last edited:

FlyingRon

You should be accumulating some journal of EVERY STEP performed on a piece of data you intend to claim as evidence. This would include any change made to the file, what was changed, who did it, and when. This includes renaming it, moving it to other storage devices, as well as actual changing of the file contents.

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
You will want to ask your own corporate legal counsel, not an internet forum. Really.

Kats41

Thanks.