• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Shoplifting

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

heyman

What is the name of your state? Virginia

I am being charged for shoplifting mechendise valued at $42.

I am 18 but only by a few months, and I still attend high school. My friend was also charged with me, but the offense was not premeditated. He is also 18 by about a month and still in high school. Our pleas are both guilty.

I'm a straight A student with no previous record. I am also in the midst of a messy divorce and my therapist has said that she would write a referral (not sure of correct jargon) to the courts for my case.

My question is...Do I need to hire a lawyer? I'm assuming a lawyer is going to cost about $1,000 AT LEAST and my friend and his family have chosen not to hire a lawyer. Is it possible for a lawyer to get charges dismissed or erased from my record? OR will I receive the same sentence that my friend will, even with a lawyer?

Thanks in advance,
JP

Silverplum

What is the name of your state? Virginia

I am being charged for shoplifting mechendise valued at $42.

I am 18 but only by a few months, and I still attend high school. My friend was also charged with me, but the offense was not premeditated. He is also 18 by about a month and still in high school. Our pleas are both guilty.

I'm a straight A student with no previous record. I am also in the midst of a messy divorce and my therapist has said that she would write a referral (not sure of correct jargon) to the courts for my case.