• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Ticket Dismissed or Not?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

sooner61

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? I received the ticket in LA. I live in OK.

Hello,

I have a question regarding, I'm guessing, procedure. On 3/17/2012 I was driving through a rural part of Louisiana on my way to Florida when the speed instantly dropped from 75 to 55. Within 20 yards of the 55 speed limit sign was a hidden cruiser and he pulled me over and gave me a ticket. I was very polite with the officer and explained to him that I can't have the ticket on my record as I am an EMT in OK and I drive ambulances for a living. He told me to write a detailed letter to the DA of the Parish and that the DA would most likely drop it because I work in public service. So when I got back to OK, I wrote the DA a letter and mailed it certified mail on 3/26/12. It showed it was delivered on 3/29/12.

Weeks went by and when I didn't hear anything back from the DA, so I gave his office a call. I spoke to the assistant DA, gave him my citation number, and he said that the citation had been dismissed and that I did not need to do anything further.

Today, 7/16/12, I received a letter from the DA's office stating that I have to complete community service and pay a fine in order to have the citation dismissed. The letter is dated 7/13/12. If I do not complete community service and pay the fine, my license will be suspended.