• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Unreasonable arrest??

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Skoon12

What is the name of your state? Wyoming

I am a student at the University of Wyoming where a friend and I were walking through a parking lot when a cop walked up to us and began questioning. He then gave us a field sobriety test and later ticketed us with minor in possesion of alcohol by consumption. My friend and I were doing nothing suspicious or illegal. Would this be grounds to dismiss the case in court?

racer72

The simple answer is no. The officer could have 1001 reasons for making contact with you. Once contact was made he determined there was probable cause for testing for the alcohol and you were busted.

CdwJava

The police have the same right to start a conversation with you as anyone else might. Once he makes that contact, his observations (bloodshot eyes, slurred speech, the odor of alcohol, etc.) can change the contact from consensual to a detention.

Sorry, but you aren't going to get out of this based solely on that issue.

- carl

signat

CdwJava said:
The police have the same right to start a conversation with you as anyone else might. Once he makes that contact, his observations (bloodshot eyes, slurred speech, the odor of alcohol, etc.) can change the contact from consensual to a detention.

Sorry, but you aren't going to get out of this based solely on that issue.

- carl

Carl,

I have a hypothetical for you: