• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

what is an official investigation?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ljp5014

What is the name of your state? Pennsylvania.

I am a penn state student and a couple of weeks ago my friends and I were tailgating for a home game. The police came by and began to issue underage citations to those who were not 21. I was very nervous and lied about my age, needless to say a bad decision (I am currently 20). After the officer found out I was not 21 he issued an underage citation and a charge of false identification to law enforcement authorities. The false identification charge is a misdemeanor. I did some research and found that the Pennsylvania code of statutes says: "A person commits an offense if he furnishes law enforcement authorities with false information about his identity after being informed by a law enforcement officer who is in uniform or who has identified himself as a law enforcement officer that the person is the subject of an official investigation of a violation of law." I do not believe I was informed that I was the subject of an official investigation and I would like to know what constitutes an official investigation. Please, if anyone knows the definition of an official investigation or has advice I would love to hear it.

The official website where I found the Penn code of statutes is http://members.aol.com/StatutesP3/18PA4914.html

FlyingRon

Lying about your age would appear to not be a violation either. Identification means your name and that seems to be the only way it is used in the case law. So unless you told the officer that you were someone else, it would seem not to be a violation of the statute.