• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

auto/injury court

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

C

crash

in a california court case auto/personal injury how do you get around not being allowed to use the word "insurance" in the court room?

L

lawrat

I am a law school graduate. What I offer is mere information, not to be construed as forming an attorney client relationship.

In order for anyone on this board to help you, we need to know a little more. What a bizarre question...Is there an attorney/judge preventing you or someone you know from using the word insurance for evidentiary reasons? hearsay or something?

Hmmm. How about that thing people purchase to protect their car when it gets into an accident so they can recover money for damages or injuries. Longwinded but that is essentially what insurance is.

P

Pacitizen

I think I know what crash is talking about.

I'm not an expert and I've never been to law school. This is just what I believe to be true but that doesn't make it so.

Now I am assuming that you are a plaintiff in an Auto PI suit and you want to be able to introduce to a jury details about the defendants insurance. I'm also assuming that your atty has correctly informed you not to mention it in open court. I'm assuming that he did so because california laws are similar/same as Florida laws in this matter.