• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Broken Car Window at BaseBall Field

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

C

cudlink

Bergen County New Jersey. I am a Volunteer Coach for PAL baseball. I was coaching a game when my Car Window was hit by a baseball during Batting practice on another field. The cost to repair the Window cost $479 minus my $200 deductable. The PAL organization says it is not liable and Parking is at your own risk. There are no signs posted stating that fact. Am I entitled to some relief?

Regards,

Coach.

racer72

Nope, you assume the risk when you park next to a ballpark. Implied liability assumes you know the risk of parking next to a location when potential damage to you vehicle may occur.

C

cudlink

Follow-up Question

racer72 said:
Nope, you assume the risk when you park next to a ballpark. Implied liability assumes you know the risk of parking next to a location when potential damage to you vehicle may occur.
WHAT ABOUT SECONDARY ASSUMPTION? The kids playing on that field are too big. They were suppose to be playing on another field.

TCB4U2B2B

Doesn't Matter

Hello: cudlink

As the header indicates...It doesn't matter.

Whether you agree or disagree with the prior posting, it is absolutely correct. You assumed that risk posted or not.

Not everything has to be posted as such. There are no posted warnings of a failure to stop at red lights to avoid getting a ticket or at a stop sign. None posted warning of the possiblity of being involved in an accident for failure to STOP. It's a known fact an accident and or ticket is possible for a failure to STOP!

Want relief? Take AlkaSelser.

Question Answered.
This Case Closed. Next Case!