• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Car accident with an Insurance Agent!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Cierra

Washington State

When I was 15 I got my permit and my parents set my up with a car, no insurance was on the vehicle yet because I was not allowed to drive it, it was a 1990 Ford Explorer.

I was a pretty naive young driver, I thought I was the best I guess at driving and I had a friend who had a lot of problems and ended up being homeless so I wanted to help him out by driving him to his dads in Oregon.

As I am leaving Oregon I'm at a red light and it turns green. I begin to accelerate into traffic and see an oncoming vehicle turning left coming straight at me. I slammed on my brakes and she just kept going forward. She eventually hit my headlight and smashed it and the rear panel by the rear tire of her car was dented in. I see her turn into a gas station and followed her. She had a 05 Mercury Mountainer. I went up to her and asked her if she had just gotten into a car accident, she said," Yes I just got hit by a 'phantom'. I am an insurance agent for State Farm."
Well I thought what a weird way to introduce yourself to someone, but said said OK.
She then said, " You can leave and I can file the report with the police by myself."

A red light went off in my head. This agent was telling me to leave a accident scene?!?!? Can we say hit and run?! I stayed I wasnt that stupid I wasnt going to let the lady who just hit me get away with it and pin it on me.