• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

car got flooded in assigned parking lot in apartment complex. cant afford a lawyer

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Ange85

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Florida

Hello. I am a struggling grad student living in south Florida and my dad took out a loan to buy a $3000 car for me (2002 pontiac). I had to for 3 months and when the town I live in got hit by heavy rains, i got flooded. It was parked in my assigned parking spot and nobody warned me that it tends to get flooded. After it happened, instead of helping me tow it out of the water, the janitor just said 'that drain has been blocked for 40 years'. Most people knew and had moved their cars but I only just moved here from Europe and had no idea. I could only afford state miminum insurance (Geico) and they're not covering any of it but took a note of it and I am sure they either wont insure me anymore or the rate will go up next time I have to renew my insurance. I have no money, not even enough to fix the car and it is totaled from the dirty water that came up the drain, and the housing association of the compex say its not their problem as there is a sign saying 'this area is prone to flooding during heavy rains'. Can anybody tell me if I can get help with this? The engine is ruined and the car is full of mold. This is such a nightmare and I cant live here without a car so I'll probably have to move back to Europe and lose all the money I put into grad school so far and obviously for the car. Even if I could afford to get the engine fixed, the mold would be a health hazard so I probably couldnt use the car anymore. Please help me!!! Thanks...

ecmst12