• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Car got hit

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Linda18

What is the name of your state?Michigan

I was driving my sister's car while it got hit from behind, Everything is in her name the insurance and the registration, Is there anything I can do. Please help me. It is my first accident and I am new at this stuff. Can I make a small claim court, Please help me. what Should I do!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

teflon_jones

Did you get the other driver's insurance information, and his/her personal information? They should be filing a claim with their insurance company right away, and you need to find out a claim number and when an adjuster will be out to look at your vehicle.

Are you ok?

Linda18

I made a police report, I and I got her name and phone number other than that nothing. So, what should I do. Should I make a small claim court, knowing that the insurance is in my sister's name. Pleaseeeeee help....

rmet4nzkx

Did you have her permission to drive the car? Does she know about the accident?
She can contact her insurance company.

sungod916

If you got hit from behind and truly believe they are at fault, call the number they gave you and get their insurance information.
File a claim with THEIR insurance since they are at fault.

This just happened to my girlfriend, she was hit from the side (the other guy was pulling out of a lot and just hit her). He is at fault so she called his insurance and they are taking care of it.

Otherwise you'll have to file a claim with your sister's insurance or yours.

Linda18