• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

DUS charge

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Katieb1114

I'm a resident of SC, and recently recieved a DUS charge (statute 56-1-460).

Here is the context in which I let my liscense get suspended:
- The suspenstion was effective 01-19, notice should have been sent shortly before this date
- However on the 17th I was called out of town due to my mothers medical conditions, and therefore was unaware of the suspension notice
-I had been aware that I needed to get a new policy soon but I did not know the exact date
- due to my life sitution during this period my phsical, emotional, and mental state were all completely preoccupied and distracted. I simply did not realize how much time had passed.
- 01/23 I was pulled over for a brake light being out, and it was this point that the suspension had been brought to my attention. I was arrested, my car towed, and tags removed.
- 01/24 I was released from jail, and immediatly obtained a new SR22 insurance policy.
-01/25 I called the DMV and was informed my tags had not yet been turned in by the arresting officer.

The Fines and punishment as of now:
-up to $647 fine for the ticket
-$400 to reinstate tags and licsense
-$100 to obtain provisional licsense
Indirect Consequences:
- Loss of scholarship ($6400/yr X 3yrs)
-$175 towing fee
-$600/yr increase in insurance

About me:
- 20 yr old College student (honors) *paying my own way*
- Participate in local charity through my sorority
- Mother has early unset alziemers, Father has struggled with severe depression since sophmore yr of highschool and both financially/physically in capable of assisting me