• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Fee distribution

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

BonnieLeu

What is the name of your state? Virginia visiting Pennsylvania
I settled with the other driver's insurance, from an accident I was in, in Bethlehem PA. MY question is 'which states laws, and procedures, PA or VA, can be applied in the distribution of of said settlement award, between I and the Philadelphia law firm which represented me.

I am a resident of VA (for over 20 years), I was in this accident during a week's visit to see my Mother in Bethlehem. I was in a car that I rented from Enterprise in Bethlehem. The driver at fault, who's car insurance has settled with me is a resident of Bethlehem PA. PA is a no fault state, VA is an add on state. My own individual health insurance carrier (Anthem) paid for my medical bills resulting from the accident. My Philadelphia lawyers representing me in this case were aware that I had not reported the accident to my VA car insurance carrier (Metlife). I had even asked in a letter to them to let me know if I needed to do so.

I also had taken out car renters insurance thru Enterprise. When I spoke with an Enterprises insurance representative, I was informed that they had sent a PIP form to my Philadelphia lawyers. I was never told of this form by my lawyers. I also checked with Metllfe later, and was told that I am covered for $5000.00 in medical, if involved in an accident while driving a rental car. My medical bills including what Anthem paid and my copays, was just over $5000.00.

My settlement was for $30,000. My argument with my lawyers is: