• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Have no auto insurance, was in accident, what are my options

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

T

Travis

I live in louisiana. I had an accident, in my brothers car. I had just bought it from him. Unfortunately, it wasnt placed in my name. The car had no insurance. The accident was a fender bender, but the man now claims he is having headaches, and it looks like he will sue. What should i do? Is there any way, i can put the blame on myself because i would rather have myself file bankruptcy than my brother. Im a college student with no money and my brother has a job where he doesnt make much maybe 25000 a year. What type of lawyer would defend me? Im in deep trouble so i need help. Any responses are welcome.

T

TimC

With my personal auto policy, I am automatically covered if I buy a new car for 30 days. In other words, if I am out driving around and see a car for sale by the side of the road, buy it, and drive it home, I am automatically covered on my existing policy.

Call your agent, but don't be too suprised if he does not offer this information. Ask the question theoretically, as oppsed to starting right off with "I was just in an accident".

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE

My response:

Since the State recognizes the car as still being owned by your brother, and since you were the one driving the car, and since both of you didn't have insurance on the car, can you say: "We're both screwed" ?

The old man has Causes of Action against both of you.

IAAL

T

Travis