• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Help? Rear-ended in 1st accident and need advice

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

bramma_99

What is the name of your state?

The name of my state is Arkansas. THis is what happened: I was slowing down to allow a vehicle in front of me to turn. Then, wam, a truck wams into the back of us. THe man had insurance and the company admitted fault. To make a long story short, both me and my wife have had neck and back pain. We both took a trip to the emergency room, and are now seeing the chiropractor on the regular basis to get the problems corrected. I have a strained lumbar causing a nerve around my spine to be pinched. I'm not exactly sure what her diagnosis is, but basically her neck got knocked off track a little.
On the vehicle part, I have a 2000 FOrd Mustang. I went to a local shop and the estimate was for $1200, having to replace the bumper. Well, when I got a call from the other company's adjuster, she advised me to use their "preferred"shop. Since I had never heard of it, i wouldnt. Then, they sent out a seperate contrator to estimate the damage of my repairs. THis is the point I am at now.
The contractor told me he would give the info to the adjuster, and then she would then mail me a check for this amound. My question is this: On the estimate I first had, he said there could be some hidden damage underneath. So, if i take the check, is the insurance company still responsible if the repairs go over the amount of the check? Would it be best not to accept the check?