• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

hit a dog on the road with van

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

smithy7

What is the name of your state? Iowa

I am a nursing student and was on my way to clinical one morning @ 6:15 am and our neighbors dog came out of the ditch and I hit the dog even though I swerved and braked trying to miss it. Being that I am in a strict school, I cannot be late for hospital days or they put students on probation. Not wanting to get put on probation, I immediately called my husband and told him to call our neighbors and explain that I hit their dog and that I'm really sorry. I was extremely upset and was even crying when I got to the hospital. No one ever wants to hit someones pet!

My husband called the neighbor and explained and the neighbor said, "Really? Huh, didn't seem to phase the dog. I just came in the house and he was laying in they yard. I even petted him when I came in." My husband and him talked a while and that was that. We were both relieved that the dog seemed to be ok even though I was in disbelief because I know that I hit that dog hard. I watched the dog roll across the road in my side mirror. I truly thought I had killed it. The dog is approx. 20lbs, stands about 12 - 16 inches off the ground.