• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

How many times can I sue a person?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

DeltaD

What is the name of your state? Texas

on 12/19/05 a lady hit my car from the rear and totaled it but she doesn't have insurance (I bet she's lying bc it's a brand new car bought from a dealer).
I've contacted her numerous of times but she refuses to talk about any kind of settlement. my insurance only cover liability so now i'm without a car and no rental.
I got a lawyer to try to get her insurance already but I'm guessing she wont put out. I don't want to keep pulling this thing out because I'm a college student and I need a mode of transportation.

My next plan is to sue her using the small Claim's court which I can only get $5,000 max. My question is this: can i sue her numerous times? because my car is worth $7500. If I can't sue her for the same case again, then I plan to sue her to pay for my medical bill, towing/storage, and lost of wages while I was in rehap. So is it possible to sue someone more than once for the same incident? but for different reason. Is there any tips on trying to get someone to pay? she have a job and a 2003 Nissan Xterra so i know she's capable of paying.
any advice will be helpful. thanks in advance

S

shell007

DeltaD said:

on 12/19/05 a lady hit my car from the rear and totaled it but she doesn't have insurance (I bet she's lying bc it's a brand new car bought from a dealer).
I've contacted her numerous of times but she refuses to talk about any kind of settlement. my insurance only cover liability so now i'm without a car and no rental.